Pindang Goreng Sambal or Fried Mackarel in Sambal

Pindang Goreng Sambal

Pindang Goreng Sambal

When I was a little kid growing up in Bali, I used to go to my best friends house to eat just this. It is actually a poor mans dish that traditionally uses smaller salted fish from the tuna family, e.g. small bonito. The fish is salted to preserve it for longer and often enough someone would get sick form a bad batch. Regardless, It was one of my favorites and is a general local favorite in Bali.

The other week I was missing this dish, I had sambal in the fridge and mackerel fresh from the market, it was meant to happen. Here though I have adjustable this childhood recipe to use fresh mackerel fillets and the fine sambal goreng tomat recipe I have put up. This recipe should feed 2 hungry people and is well complemented with my tempe manis recipe.

This dish is an absolute culinary wonder that is so simple to make and so yummy in the tummy.

Ingredients:

2 mackerel fish (fillets and cut into half, you can get your fish monger to do this for you, but I prefer to do it all myself, it can be a fun challenge).
1 cup of sambal goreng (recipe here)
1-2 tablespoons of kecap manis (sweet soy sauce).
enough vegetable or coconut oil to fry the fish

Instructions:

In a non-stick pan, fry the mackerel fillets in just enough oil to partially submerge the fish. I always fry the skin side down first. You want the fish to fry till crispy and dark brown on the outside.

Once fried, remove from the pan and place on a plate with kitchen paper to help get rid of the oil. Get rid of the oil and reserve a tablespoon.

Heat up the tablespoon of oil in the same pan and add the sambal goreng. Once hot add the fried mackarel and coat. Allow this to cook for 3-5 min, turning and re-coating the fish regularly.

Put onto a serving plate and pour on top the kecap manis.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

